Conversations 2016 Table Hosts
Andrew Bacevich - Dan Barry - Paul Baumann - Matthew Boudway - Anthony Domestico - Paul Elie - Massimo Faggioli - Rita Ferrone - David Gibson - Rosanne Haggerty - Patrick Jordan - Cathleen Kaveny - James Martin, SJ - James P. McCartin - Alice McDermott - Charles R. Morris - Paul Moses - Mollie Wilson O'Reilly - Michael Peppard - Dominic Preziosi - Peter Quinn - Tim Shriver - Matthew Sitman - Margaret O'Brien Steinfels - Peter Steinfels

2016 Event Committee
Martin Lipton (co-chair) - Anthony Welters (co-chair) - Robert L. Berner, Jr. - John Borst - John T. McGreevy - James T. Morley, Jr. - Brien O'Brien - Dennis O'Brien - Jane B. O'Connell - Leo J. O'Donovan, SJ - Barbara Mullin Rosiello - Paul C. Saunders - Tim Shriver - Marc vanderHeyden

THANK YOU to the hundreds of Commonweal writers, contributors, supporters, board members, readers, and fans who helped us celebrate our 92nd Anniversary at Commonweal Conversations 2016 on October 24. It was a record turnout, and a record-setting event in support of Commonweal.

Our special thanks go to John Sexton, president emeritus of New York University, recipient of our fifth Catholic in the Public Square award; to Joseph McShane, SJ, president of Fordham University, for his stirring introduction; to Anthony Welters, event co-chair, for his presence, generosity, and hard work; and to Commonweal's board chair Paul Saunders, John Sexton's friend from the Fordham class of 1963, whose tireless commitment made the evening such a success.

Catalyst Trust
The Mary Christie Foundation
Beatrice & Tony Welters

Arun Alagappan
Sheila & Robert Berner
William Brewer
Stephen J. Hemsley
Frank J. Guarini Foundation
The Charles & Jane Klein Family Fund
Howard Meyers
Brien O'Brien
Edward John and Patricia Rosenwald Foundation
Patricia & Paul Saunders
Klara & Larry Silverstein
Paul Francis
Chandrika & Ranjan Tandon
Abeer & Yousef Al Otaiba

Anonymous (2)
Gail Furman, PhD
Martin Lipton
Barbara Mullin Rosiello & Robert Rosiello

Suzanne McSorley and Thomas Baker
Mickey & Mark Dalton
Martin Edelman
Gail & Alfred Engelberg
Fairfield University
Fordham University
Margaret & John Martin
Marcia & James T. Morley, Jr.
Judith & Dennis O'Brien
Jane & Tony O'Connell
Matthew Santirocco
Patricia & Paul Saunders
Linda Potter and Timothy Shriver
The Jay & Deanie Stein Foundation Trust
University of Notre Dame
Dana & Marc vanderHeyden
Ellen Alberding & Kelly Welsh
Wilf Family Foundation

Silver Supporters
Margaret & Howard Fluhr
Claire Gaudiani, PhD
Georgetown University
Loretta Brennan Glucksman
Darlene Jordan
Angela Mathews
George Thibault
Xavier High School

Kerry Robinson
Rev. Robert Beloin
John Borst
Thomas Caswell
Gerald Crotty
Elizabeth Ann Donnelly
Rev. John P. Duffell
Stephen J. Fearon
Tom Gallagher
Grant Gallicho
Shirley Jenks
Cathleen Kaveny
J. Patrick Keleher
Thomas Leonard
Betty Lovett
America Magazine
Dakin Matthews
Star of the Sea Fine Books
John Moran
Mary & Roger Mulvihill
Daniel Murtaugh
Maureen O'Leary
Felecian University
Mary Rutherfurd
Seton Hall University School of Law
Richard Sexton
Julia V. Shea
Anne & Edward Wilson
Catherine Wolfe

Louis de Strycker
Amy Wilson Flannery
Juliana & Terence Gilheany
Patricia & John Stack
Susanne Washburn

Left to Right: Commonweal Foundation Board Chair Paul Saunders; John Sexton, recipient of Commonweal’s fifth Catholic in the Public Square Award; and Commonweal editor Paul Baumann.

Fordham University President Joseph McShane, SJ, introduces John Sexton.

A look at Commonweal's mission and plans for the future.

John Sexton's address at Commonweal Conversations 2016.